And Then I Found It

So back to the story.  I had learned I didn’t like plain running.  And I didn’t really like triathlons that much.  So what next?  I somehow came across the Warrior Dash.  I don’t even remember how I heard about it, but as soon as I saw it, I knew I had to try it.  Those people in that ad looked like they were having so much fun!  I looked into all the obstacle course races I could find at the time, and decided the Warrior Dash seemed like the least intimidating.  I mean, on the Spartan race you had to do 30 burpees if you couldn’t complete an obstacle!  I didn’t even know what a burpee was at that time, but I knew I probably didn’t want to do 30 of them.  Ah, to be naïve again.  (As it turns out, my first assumption was, in fact, correct).  But there was no penalty for not doing obstacles on this one, and the participants looked a little less intense, so I figured it was a good one to try.  But I didn’t want to do it alone, and my husband had to serve as babysitter.  So I called up my best girlfriend who lives out of state, told her to come to town for a girls’ weekend to do a mud run, and like any best girlfriend, she said ‘sure!’
IMG_2323
It was raining that day, and although it was a time of year that would normally be warm, we had a cold front come through.  We basically trudged through 6 inches of mud for 3.1 miles, up and down mud hills, through muddy ditches…and that was separate from the obstacles that were supposed to be muddy.  Since that’s my only experience with a mud obstacle race, I’m not quite sure how much of the mud was from the rain and how much was supposed to be there. The running trudging through mud part was hard. And I was cold. But the obstacle part was so much fun. And I was hooked!!
image2
So I had finally found my ‘thing’ I wanted to do.  I couldn’t wait for my next one.  And I finally had some training goals.  I came home and convinced my husband that he needed this in his life.  We both signed up for the local Rugged Maniac in November and got my mom to get a plane ticket to come for a visit during that time so she could watch the kids 🙂  I can’t wait!  I still hadn’t decided to be a ninja, but I did know I needed to get off the couch and get in shape. But what to do?

image1

2 thoughts on “And Then I Found It

  1. I tried a Warrior Dash a few years ago, and it was a blast! My family and I watch ninja warrior together all the time, and we love watching newcomers succeed. I wish you all the best in your endeavors, and I’ll be looking for you on t.v.!

    Like

Leave a Reply

