And Then There Was That Time I Decided To Be An American Ninja Warrior

It had been a couple months since I had discovered obstacle course races, and I was eating up all I could find out about them.  And then June came, and ‘summer TV’ came on.

LOVE ‘summer TV’.  American Ninja Warrior, America’s Got Talent, So You Think You Can Dance…those are the usual suspects.  Then this year Spartan Ultimate Team Challenge, Team Ninja Warrior, and Superhuman sucked me in, too.  Then I occasionally watch Celebrity Game Night and Celebrity Family Feud… I definitely watch WAY more TV in the summer than I do during the year.  I’m a sucker for all the game show/competition type stuff.  I love The Amazing Race, too, but it’s been a long time since I’ve seen it.  But I digress…

So I starting watching Ninja Warrior like I always do, but this year my 5 year old daughter started watching with me, and she got HOOKED!  She starting trying to climb everything she could.  She would take off the long couch cushion and prop it against the wall and call it her ‘warped wall’, and started begging me to build her some obstacles.
FullSizeRender (4).jpg
They have such amazing athletes on American Ninja Warrior, larger than life superhero types.  And some really amazing women.  But it still wasn’t something I really thought I could do.  And then the Kansas City qualifiers came on.  And Sarah Schoback ran.  I completely connected with her story.  Stay at home mom, hadn’t been a rock climber or gymnast her whole life, decided to be a ninja, started training, opened her own ninja gym, and boom! she’s on the show.  Now I’m sure it wasn’t a ”boom! I’m on the show!” experience for Sarah.  I know there was a lot of hard work, and time, and she wasn’t selected her first year.  But for me sitting on my couch, it was “she decided to do it, and boom! she did it!”.  And I could relate to her a lot.  And right then and there I decided I was going to be an American Ninja Warrior, too.

So I looked her up on Facebook, as you do, sent her a message, and basically told her congratulations on her run (she was top female finisher in Kansas City), and thanked her for her story, and that it was so inspiring to me.  She was so gracious to reply, and was very kind.  We started chatting a bit, mostly me blubbering about having a mid-life crisis and finding obstacle course races, and wanting to be a ninja warrior, but I knew that was crazy because I couldn’t even do one pull-up, and I have all these dreams, and I’m so excited, and yadi yadi yadi.  I think somewhere in there I convinced her I wasn’t a psycho, just excitable.  She’s been so encouraging, and inspirational, and has given me a workout routine to do everyday to get stronger.  And I would say I call her a friend.  As much as 2 people can be friends that live across the country from each other, have never met, have messaged a bit, and share the fact that one person is a ninja, and one person wants to be a ninja, lol.

And very soon after my Crossfit challenge started…

Leave a Reply

