Vacation Cheating or Week 4 of the ‘Challenge’

So I’d been on my paleo diet for 3 weeks now.  And I’d been good about not ‘cheating’ because 1, I want the best results I can get.  I want to give it my full effort, so that if things don’t turn out as well as I’m hoping, I won’t wonder if I could have had better results had I done better on the diet.  And 2, I knew I was going on vacation during week 4, and I knew I would cheat on it, so I figured if I had done really good on my diet so far, I’d have less guilt about it.

Day 1 of our vacation, and man did I have a good lunch. We stopped in Waco, TX at Magnolia Market.

IMG_7435

I’m not sure there are any humans left on the planet that haven’t heard of Chip and Joanna Gaines, but if for some reason they have eluded you so far, they’re a super lovable (almost annoyingly so) couple who has a show on HGTV, and a real estate company, and a line of furniture, and a B&B (among other things) and they’re taking over the world.  And they have created this really adorable ‘campus’, that has a home decor store, a bakery, and a food truck garden (hence my amazing lunch).  They also have a huge Astroturf yard for the kids (and kids at heart) to run around and play ball, and play giant jenga, and such.
IMG_7430
They also have umbrellas to borrow, which was nice since it was about 300 degrees outside.  Thankfully the line to get into the bakery was very long, and our time was short, so I wasn’t tempted to eat those calories.  But I did splurge on a ‘gourmet grilled cheese’. And a mango sweet tea. But I got a watermelon mint salad on the side, so that’s better than fries, right? Right???!

IMG_7455
I did pack a lot of our food for this trip. I froze a bunch of spinach and kale smoothies and made paleo pumpkin muffins for breakfasts. Got some good beef jerky and put together some paleo trail mix for snacks, and baked and froze a bunch of different flavored chicken breasts for lunches and dinners.  All the hotels we stayed at had a fridge and microwave, so we planned to go grocery shopping for salad fixings. So see? I’m trying to be good!

IMG_7421

I did end up eating worse than I planned on.  But I ate better than I normally would on a vacay.  The babies were sick and fussy the entire trip, and I was considering throwing in the towel and coming home just about every moment of the trip.  So there were a few meals where I just didn’t have the energy to make a good decision.

IMG_7647IMG_7754

And then there was Pioneer Woman’s Mercantile where I just didn’t want to make a good decision.  We did go grocery shopping for greens, and I had quite a few chicken salads.  So the week wasn’t a total loss, but not as healthy as I had played it out in my head.

IMG_7635

As far as the workouts go, I had plans to stop in to 3 or 4 ninja gyms along the way.  They all deserve their own post, so stay tuned for those.

 

2 thoughts on “Vacation Cheating or Week 4 of the ‘Challenge’

Leave a Reply

